Limerick City Council

Visiting Limerick

Limerick City, with a population of over 52,539 with another 34,197* living in the suburbs, is the third largest city in the Republic of Ireland.

It is the regional capital of the Mid-Western Region (population of over 364,028*), which embraces the city of Limerick and the counties of Limerick, Clare and Tipperary N.R **.. The city contains the principal offices of Limerick City Council and Limerick County Council, together with the head-offices of the Mid-Western Health Board and Bord na gCon.

Also located in the city are the Regional Headquarters of the Army, the Garda Divisional Headquarters, the Regional Head Offices of the Electricity Supply Board, Income Tax and Irish Rail, the Area Headquarters of the District and Circuit Courts and Land Registry, the Regional Local Office of FAS, and the Limerick District Headquarters of the Post Office.

* CSO 2006

** Local Government Act, 1991: Regional Authority Establishment Order

Last update:

Help us Help you

Contact Us

Tel: +353 61 407100
Fax: +353 61 415266